05
Sep
10

The Month in Photos: June 2010

Click ahead for the full June update with photos…enjoy..

♥ Ramses & Shiva 060110
IMG_1767

They always enjoy the afternoon sun from the front door…I just happened
to take advantage on the situation and that he was relaxed. I can’t always get
photos of Ramses since he’s so skidish. I like how they came out…

IMG_1768

IMG_1770

IMG_1772

♥ First Fridays at the Natural History Museum 060410
DSCN4913
This was the last month for First Fridays. Kerri and I were soo bummed but all
we could do is enjoy it and look forward to January 2011 for the new season.
It also happened to be the opening of the gift shop so we went and checked it
out. Lots of cute stuff..

DSCN4917

IMG_1775

DSCN4918

DSCN4920

IMG_1778

IMG_1781

IMG_1788

IMG_1794

IMG_1797
We had a lot of fun in front of this crystal ball, just like last month.

IMG_1799
After we left we headed over to Bellflower for the Sadistic Intent show…
we had a busy night.

♥ Sadistic Intent at Spike’s Bar 060410
IMG_1803
This was a pretty interesting night. We met Nathan there and also ended
up seeing lots of old friends and people we hadn’t seen in a long time. It was
a really fun show indeed!

IMG_1807

DSCN4927
I like nighttime photography and concert photography, but it’s really not
my thing. I can admit that, but I do keep practicing and trying so I think
I’m slowly getting better and more comfortable at it. Of course here I was
playing around trying to see what worked. I like some of the photos. All in
all it was a fun night!

DSCN4936

DSCN4939

DSCN4940

DSCN4943

IMG_1810

IMG_1825
This was one late show. We didn’t get out of here til like almost 3am
I believe. Late indeed..

IMG_1831
Of course we ended our night, or should I say morning, at Denny’s for
breakfast. Mmmm soo good!

♥ Lunch 060610
IMG_1832
Met up Nanny & Tori for late lunch. We ended up at Mimi’s Cafe and I had
my usual grilled cheese with tomato and basil. I love the fried cheese on the
outside. Soo good! It was a good meal!

♥ Foggy afternoon walk 060710
IMG_1833
The fog over by where I work can get pretty heavy in certain parts. For some
reason this week the fog stayed around all day, even by the time I left work.
These days are nice and cold…

IMG_1834

IMG_1835

♥ Foggy bus stop 060810
IMG_1836
I just love this fog! This was while waiting for my bus to come..

IMG_1838

♥ Miscellaneous 060910
IMG_1842
Took these while waiting for Nanny to pick me up after work.
We headed over to the closest mall to go to H&M to shop. Found
some goodies as always. Had a nice afternoon…

IMG_1844

IMG_1845
Nanny being silly in H&M..

♥ Loki Watching TV 060910
IMG_1849
He doesn’t do this often, but it’s pretty funny when he does! I couldn’t
resist taking a few photos…he seemed so into it..

IMG_1851

IMG_1853

♥ Ink N Iron 2010 at the Queen Mary 061110
IMG_1858
Nanny had mentioned to me that Ink n Iron was going to start. I had never
been so I was really interested in checking it out. We started our night at
The Yardhouse for food and drinks…

IMG_1859

DSCN4953
We had a really fun time…

DSCN4955
And we got to see Kim Saigh and Corey Miller…plus tons of other
awesome artists…

DSCN4966

IMG_1861

DSCN4982
Got to briefly see The Rev play…

DSCN5000
We then got to see some sexy burlesque performances. So glad we
caught the show. Again, like I mentioned earlier, nighttime show photos
don’t always come out the way I want them. Typically blurry, but I tried
here again and was happy with the results. This was a super fun night!

DSCN5015

DSCN5048

DSCN5069

DSCN5089

DSCN5115

DSCN5140
We were able to check out the pole dancers also. I am so glad we were
able to see it. These girls are really super talented with what they do!

DSCN5141

DSCN5155

DSCN5174

IMG_1889
This was a buzzed fun night! We left pretty late and ended up at Denny’s
for some food and to sober up a little bit. We didn’t make it back home til
about 4am.
*More photos can be found at the Flickr set.

♥ Ink N Iron 2010 at the Queen Mary 061310
IMG_1906
Kerri had wanted to check out Sunday at the fest so we all go together
again to go, except this time Kerri and Tori joined us. Plus it was great
for Nanny and Kerri to finally meet. They are both so alike, being that they
are born a day apart on the same year. We met for food and drinks the The
Pike to start off our day.

IMG_1919
We did lots of walking around checking out the vendors.

IMG_1921

DSCN5191
This time we got to see some of the classic cars parked on the outside.
There were some really nice cars out there..

DSCN5206
My favorite stand, although when I got there and saw skulls I wanted
they kept getting snatched up by other people. I couldn’t believe it kept
happening. There were no others that I liked so I’ll wait til the next time
I stumble across their stand for a new skull..

DSCN5245
We also got to see these guys perform. That was fun to watch!
And the women went crazy!!

DSCN5319
And we got to see the beginning of the burlesque show, which
we missed on Friday…

DSCN5347

IMG_1935

DSCN5404

DSCN5428

IMG_1980
I ended up taking soo many photos on my camera that I killed my battery.
Sucked but what could I do…well take all the rest on my iPhone instead.
It had to do..luckily I still had a little battery so I used it up in the beginning
of the pole dancers performance. We got to catch this from the beginning
also..

DSCN5435

IMG_2131

IMG_2152

DSCN5461

DSCN5463

DSCN5469

IMG_2227

IMG_2247
What a fun day..I can’t say much else other than I can’t wait for next year’s
Ink n Iron to return..
*More photos can be found at the Flickr set.

♥ Drinks, Food, & Dessert with Nanny 061810
IMG_2248
After having a bad day at home, Nanny picked me up for some drinks
and food. We ended up at Claim Jumper’s. We hung out at the bar, had
a couple drinks, some appetizer’s and dessert. Oh got so full but it was
all really good. Plus it was nice hanging out and talking.

IMG_2249

♥ Todd Schorr Reception & Lunch 061910
IMG_2252
Nanny, Tori and I went to check out the reception for Todd Schorr. So
glad we went to check this out. We got there at a perfect time to where it
was still quiet and we were able to browse the gallery without too many
people being there. His artwork is really awesome!

IMG_2253

IMG_2256

IMG_2257

IMG_2258

IMG_2261

IMG_2262

IMG_2265

IMG_2267

IMG_2269

IMG_2270

IMG_2272

IMG_2273

IMG_2277
Nanny fell in love with this print, as did i!

IMG_2278

IMG_2282
This was done by Todd’s wife, Kathy Staico Schorr. Loved the Halloween theme!

IMG_2295

IMG_2296
After the exhibit we ended up walking down La Brea and ended up at an overpriced
vintage store. Lots of cute stuff, but super expensive!

IMG_2300
We then came across this little store/cafe called Maison Midi. The food
was really good and I loved that they served breakfast all day. I wasn’t
in the mood for breakfast, but had a good lunch! The store had lots of
cute stuff plus travel books and other goodies.

IMG_2308

♥ Bars & Art Shopping with Kerri 062010
IMG_2325
This month was a good one considering I got one of my images accepted
the the OC Fair competition. This made me so happy!! And brought on some
things for me to do. Kerri offered to take me to the art store to see about
finding some mats to get my piece ready to hang. Although I didn’t end up
using the mat I bought this day, I still had a fun night. And plan to use the
mat to frame something else soon.

IMG_2326
This place happened to be next to the art supply store and Kerri had already
spotted it. We couldn’t figure out what it would be. Fortunately we happened
to see that there were people there so we stopped by to check it out. Turned
out it’s a gallery that was getting ready to open. I love this art that they were
creating on the floor. And this place brings on a possibility for a gallery show.
We’ll see what happens with that in the near future…wouldn’t this be an awesome
place for an exhibit!?

IMG_2329
After this stop we ended up at the bar next door for a drink. And I got to
browse my new book that I had just found at the art store. Ernie is soo cute
and I love this photo book of an artists cat. Adorable!!!

IMG_2333
This was bar number two, where we had more drinks and even some shots.
We spent more time here…

IMG_2336
And it had a neat artsy atmosphere. It was a quiet bar though, I guess on a
Sunday that’s normal..

IMG_2343

IMG_2365
After having some weird stuff happen with some of Kerri’s friends, and me
having to talk some sense into Kerri also [whole other story I won’t get into]
we ended up at In N Out super late [for me on a Sunday at least] for some food
and to decompress from the night. This little girl was really cute also! She had
the most adorable name, although now I can’t remember…

♥ Bowers Museum with Claudia 062610
DSCN5485
Claudia and I had talked about getting together for a fun day. We decided to
go to the Bowers Museum since we both had never been. I had a really fun time,
although we didn’t have a lot of time to see the whole thing. And it was a small
museum. Must get there earlier next time.

IMG_2374
These jewelry pieces at the front of the museum were huge! I can’t imagine
carrying something that big around me all day. How do they do it!?

IMG_2391

IMG_2396

IMG_2400

IMG_2420

IMG_2422

IMG_2437

IMG_2461
This part of the museum was really neat also. Glad we got to see this exhibit
before it closed..

DSCN5497
The outside of the museum is really cute also. After closing time we came
we walked around outside and got a few photos. It was pretty hot so we
didn’t stay out there for long..

DSCN5504

DSCN5505
Once we were done we went over to The Pike and spent the rest of the
afternoon talking over food and drinks. Glad we got to spend some time
together. It was a lot of fun!
*More photos can be found at the Flickr set.

♥ Miscellaneous 062810
IMG_2468
I always admire the some of the street art around Long Beach. These electrical
panels all have something different. This one happens to be where I wait for Nathan
to pick me up. Haven’t had a chance to take photos of any others, yet…

IMG_2469

♥ Another foggy afternoon 063010
IMG_2473
This is the view from the office. Made me want to take a nap…

Well that’s June through my eyes. June was definitely busy and fun at the same
time. So glad I got to have a lot of fun and got to spend time with some good
company! What a memorable month.

xoxo Love & Hugs

0 Responses to “The Month in Photos: June 2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

