15
Aug
10

The Month in Photos: May 2010

Continuing with the updates, here is May’s update…another awesome month!

♥ Lunch at Pei Wei 050610
IMG_1531
Vickki, my co-worker, and I always try to get out for a bit for lunch. It’s always nice.
We’ve gone a couple times to Pei Wei. I always enjoy their food. It’s fresh and tasty.
And I like that I can get any recipe with veggies or tofu or both as with my meal above.
This was the Spicy Korean, to which I always have to add more chili to it. Soo tasty!

♥ First Fridays at the Natural History Museum 050710
DSCN4601

This was our second month checking out First Fridays. We arrived and found a table
filled with cupcakes. And at that very moment bumped into an old friend that I had not
seen in years [Hey Monique!]. Turned out they were filming Cupcake Wars. We took a couple
cupcakes and moved along into the museum.

DSCN4603
We spent a lot of time in the gems minerals section of the museum. It was really neat
seeing all the different colors and types of stones. They were really fun.

IMG_1542

IMG_1547

IMG_1609

IMG_1556

IMG_1562
We looked into this crystal ball a lot. It was seriously huge!

IMG_1564
We also attended the Toxic Algal blooms discussion. Lots of interesting information.

IMG_1566

IMG_1570

IMG_1572
I always enjoy walking around the Dino Lab checking out the people at work.
While walking around I noticed this girl was a scientific illustrator where she
was helping document fossils prepared in the lab as an archive for the museum.
I would love to be able to do this. Still contemplating volunteering at the museum
one day in the hopes that I can work at the Dino Lab learning about this career.
It is a possibility…

IMG_1573

IMG_1575

IMG_1596
The bird section is another area I enjoy to frequent..

IMG_1600

IMG_1607

IMG_1609
After the museum we tried to go see Human Centipede in L.A. Before the theater we
stopped by a little used bookstore that was next door.

IMG_1614
Unfortunately the movie had sold out earlier that day so it wasn’t our night
for a movie. I knew that I should have bought tickets ahead of time, but didn’t
do it. We still had a fun night..
*More photos can be found at the Flickr set.

♥ Hypocrisy show at the Galaxy 051510
IMG_1618

Kerri had invited me to this show. She got us meet and greet tickets
for the show. We got there and had a nice table, ate some good food
and drank beers while watching all the bands up to Hypocrisy. We went
backstage right before they were going to go on so it was cool meeting
them. We had a fun night!

♥ Monkees 051510
IMG_1619

These photos need no explanation. Loki, Ramses, and Miss Kittie lounging..

IMG_1620

IMG_1621

♥ Renaissance Faire 051610
DSCN4628

Ahh, the Renaissance Faire. This was my first time going. It was quite a day.
We did lots of walking, made stops at the difference vendors, met lots of interesting
characters, found our perfect rings that were picked out by the lady helping us,
watched a few different shows, drank lots of beer, got super dirty from the dirt,
and ended our day at The Pike for more drinks and beer. The unfortunate thing
was that Dio passed away today..

IMG_1623

DSCN4673

DSCN4751

DSCN4781

IMG_1702
*More photos can be found at the Flickr set.

♥ Soundsuits After Dark at UCLA 052210
IMG_1709

Kerri and I made plans to go to Soundsuits to see how the atmosphere was. Before
heading out we stopped at The Pike for some food and drinks. At the moment,
this is my favorite beer!

DSCN4791
We got there nice and early before the crowds came in.

IMG_1714
And since they had a few of the gourmet food trucks there, we had to give one
a try. We ended up trying Calbi Fusion Tacos. I had the tofu taco and kimchi
quesadilla. The quesadilla was really good with some spicy sauce.

DSCN4800

IMG_1719
Before we knew it the Soundsuits guys came out to dance around the crowds.
They were interesting but a bit freaky. Around this time we noticed that the line
to get into the museum was extremely long and was not moving. We also realized
that all the alcohol was inside so there was no way for us to get a drink unless
we waited in line for a ridiculously long time. So we hung out outside instead and
people watched..

IMG_1722

IMG_1725

IMG_1731

IMG_1734

IMG_1739
We had a really good time although we couldn’t get in to see the exhibit as we expected.

♥ Dio Memorial at Forest Lawn Cemetery 053010
DSCN4816

As soon we heard that there would be a memorial for Dio we made plans to go. We
figured there would be a lot of people that would try to get in and they would more
than likely be there really early. We decided to leave a little later in the morning.
We got there and they had just given the last few wristbands to get in, so we found our
spot outside under a tent and waited for the ceremony to start. Since we had a few hours
I decided to walk around the cemetery and take photos. I don’t frequent cemetery’s as
much as I wished, so I took advantage since there was extra time.

DSCN4819

DSCN4821

DSCN4830

DSCN4843

DSCN4846

DSCN4856

DSCN4866

DSCN4883

DSCN4895
While walking around I managed to sunburn the back of my neck. It really hurt the next
day. In any case, the ceremony was really nice and the cemetery got pretty crowded with
people. I was glad we were able to go, even though we had to leave early to head to a
BBQ for Memorial Day.

♥ Memorial Day BBQ at Tishs’ 053010
IMG_1748

As I mentioned, we left the Dio memorial early since we had a BBQ to go to at Tishs’ place.
Every time I’m there I always end up taking photos of their little critters. This is Spanky..

IMG_1750
Since all the food was brought out to the back patio, the doggies were put in the back.
I went to say hello and visit for a bit. This was Misty trying to find me in between the cracks
of the door..

IMG_1753

IMG_1755
Misty’s mouth with Bojo in the background..

IMG_1758
Bojo saying hello. Well we had a nice BBQ and got stuffed with food. I was really glad that
I had the next day off because I got a bad burn from the sun on the back of my neck. Ouch!!

♥ Loki 053110
IMG_1762

His favorite spot on the dresser where my jewelry is..he often looks at himself too.

IMG_1763

IMG_1764

Until the next update…

xoxo Love & Hugs

D

0 Responses to “The Month in Photos: May 2010”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

