05
Oct
09

Museum of African American Art & Moon Cake Fest w/Nanny & Tori 100309

So, it had been quite some time since I had last seen Nanny & Tori. We’ve been
talking a bit more on Facebook and decided to make some plans to get together.
Since this weekend was Free Museum Weekend we decided to go to the Museum
of African American Art. It was nice seeing Nanny & Tori today. We took our time and
checked out the 4 different sections inside of the museum. Divided into the following
sections: “In The Courtyard”, “Tuskegee Airman”, “Inside My Head”, and “Harlem of the
West”. I especially enjoyed the Inside My Head exhibit among the 4. But they were
all still great. I wouldn’t mind returning I just don’t like that I can’t take any photos
unfortunately. Of course that didn’t stop me..


IMG_0196

IMG_0195
This altar was inside of the “Inside My Head” exhibit. This was enclosed in a
little room. The top photo is the top of the altar and the bottom is the floor. I definitely
could not leave without at least trying to snap a quick photo through my phone
for this. It was definitely my favorite part of the museum. Looking at all the details
and the different calaveras. It was a great fusion of Latin and African influences
on a Latin celebration. I’m bummed though that I didn’t get the artist name on this.

IMG_0197
being that at this point in seemed easy enough to snap a few more of my
favorites, I went ahead and took my chance. Luckily the section had cleared
out and I was all alone. When passing by these pieces we all admired the colors
and brush strokes used to create these pieces. Went back to get her name and
snapped up these quick shots.

IMG_0198
Her name was Madi Comfort. She was 59 years old when she enrolled
into Rio Hondo College. She had previously been known as a movie
actress-singer and was a performer to the legendary Duke Ellington Band.
Unfortunately she passed away about 5 years ago at the age of 79.
It was really inspiring seeing her art and then finding out who the
artist was.
IMG_0199

IMG_0200
Very cautiously I took this of the Museum Lobby.

DSCN2802

DSCN2804

DSCN2805

DSCN2809

DSCN2810

DSCN2811
At this point we were contemplating what to eat. Since we couldn’t
figure out we decided just to drive towards downtown LA. We would
be sure to find something out there.

IMG_0202
Leaving the parking lot to go get food..

IMG_0205

IMG_0206
Far away view of downtown LA.

IMG_0207
Before we knew it we were heading towards the LA Mart and we see
this huge chair just sitting in the parking lot. It looked so out of place
that we had to pull over to snap a photo of it. Funny that I use to go by
here every day for over a year but I never saw I never saw it from the train.
Since it’s tucked behind I doubt I would have ever seen it.

IMG_0208

IMG_0209
View from underneath the chair.

DSCN2812
Before we knew it we were heading towards Chinatown and just decided
to go eat there. When we arrived we also realized that there was a Moon
Cake festival going on. This was the Chinatown Moon Cake Festival, or
also known as the Mid-Autumn Festival, which dates back over 3,000
years to moon worship in China. It was a nice surprise since this wasn’t
planned. Nanny had suggested this place that her dad use to take
her too all the time called Hop Louie. We looked at a few shops before
getting to the restaurant.

DSCN2813

DSCN2814

DSCN2815
I really loved all the lanterns that were hanging.

DSCN2816

DSCN2817

DSCN2818

DSCN2819
I honestly can’t even remember the last time I was in Chinatown.
I’m thinking possibly when I was a child and my mom took me.

DSCN2822

DSCN2823

DSCN2824

DSCN2825

DSCN2826
These little fried sticks were yummy. Over the meal we talked a lot.
It was nice.

DSCN2828
A big platter of steamed rice and my spicy eggplant. It was really good
and filling.

DSCN2831
By the time that we were done eating and talking we stepped
outside and realized it was already getting the dark and the
amount of people had grew since we had arrived. We noticed
inside of the restaurant as well. By the time we left almost all
the tables were taken. The lanterns at night glowed against the
darkening blue sky and the lights from the shops. I had a really
good time getting these night shots. Although some are a bit blurry
they still make me happy. All the colors and lights.

DSCN2832

DSCN2834

DSCN2835

DSCN2836

DSCN2838
The little gold one lowered his arm as well.

DSCN2839

DSCN2840

DSCN2842

DSCN2843

DSCN2846

DSCN2847

DSCN2849
All the festivities were definitely under way by now. Here they
are discussing the proper way to make Moon Cake.

DSCN2850
I really love this photo. I love the colors, and of course all the red!

DSCN2851

DSCN2852

DSCN2854

DSCN2855
Some really cool lights being projected on the wall.

DSCN2856

DSCN2857
This was such a beautiful night to be out under the moon.
It was a really nice night.

DSCN2859

DSCN2860

DSCN2862

DSCN2863

DSCN2865

DSCN2866
As we got closer to the front where the street was, we started noticing the
amount of people that had shown up and the amount of people in the street.
I had noticed some people that were dressed to race but I guess I didn’t realize
that the race was happening right there. This prompted a problem: this street
was our way out of the parking lot. We figured that we would eventually figure
a way out and headed to the bakery for sweets.

DSCN2868
All the sweets looked delicious! I decided to get a cheesecake slice.

DSCN2869

DSCN2870

DSCN2876
We made our way towards the street and started talking to a security
guard. He told us the race was supposed to start and that within 30 minutes
they should clear off the street and we would be able to leave. We decided to
hang out and watch the race start.

DSCN2879

DSCN2880

DSCN2883

DSCN2885
This was the race starting, finally at almost 8pm.

DSCN2886
The racers passing us by..

DSCN2888
Once the race started we looked around and realized that there was
an exit on the back end of the parking lot. We were pretty tired so we
were glad to see this exit that made our way towards the open street.
Before jumping on the freeway we drove around Broadway seeing the
old theaters and open bars.

This was definitely a fun day of catching up, art, good food and sweets,
and some moon cake festivities.

0 Responses to “Museum of African American Art & Moon Cake Fest w/Nanny & Tori 100309”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

