21
Sep
09

Update+Photos 072409-090609

DSCN2260

Summer Fun Day at the Pasadena Jazz Institute 072409
At work every year they would have a Summer Fun Day where we left
work super early and then went somewhere to spend the day. I got to
be there for last year and we went to a beach out in Malibu. It was a lot
of fun and nice getting out of the office and doing somethng fun things with
co-workers. For this year we were all unsure if anything was going to
happen due to the economy and all that. Every department seemed to be
doing something different. Some went to Catalina, others went bowling or
to the beach. So a few weeks before we found out that we were going to have
our fun day. They choose the Pasadena Jazz Institute which was a lot of fun.
We still met at work and took the train to Pasadena. Luckily this place was close
to the stop. We had some drinks, ate some food [although the place was supposed
to have veggie burgers the owner forgot to get them somehow. One of our co-workers
had to go get them but by then I had already eaten other stuff], and did a little talent
show. Someone played the piano and wrote a song, and Katie and Kristen sang a
song together. In between this they threw out an offer for someone that had never
played drums before but might be good. To my surprise, Raquel quickly pointed to me.
I was a bit hesitant at first but then everyone started rooting me on so I went with it.
It was pretty cool and I never would have thought that I would have been playing a
jazz song on the drums with only a few instructions. The song wasn’t very hard.
We played Cantaloupe Island by Herbie Hancock. The adrenalin was definitely rushing
through me. It felt great! I wouldn’t mind getting behind the kit again, having Nathan teach
me some songs. Those photos Raquel took since I was up there. This place also had some
really nice art. I really liked the red wall painting with the woman. Among the others I
photographed that caught my eye. So, yea it was fun. I had a good time with the girls
and being away from the job. Too bad that shortly after this all the problems started at
work and things went downhill. But anyways, since this very same night was Katie’s
birthday get together in Pasadena Nathan went to meet me out there and we went and had
early dinner out there. We went to The Yardhouse and had some food and drinks. Of course
my usual Pomegranite mojito. Afterwards we went to go watch the Transformers movie.
We had a little bit of time in between so we walked around and stopped at Bath & Body
Works for some soaps. The movie was ok. Of course the transformers themselves looked
insanely cool but the acting and lovie parts were a bit cheesy. And god damn the movie was
flooong!!!You know, fucking looong! There are a lot of little bits that could have been cut out.
So for Katie’s party we planned to get there around 9pm or so, well the movie didn’t end until
after 10pm. We were glad to be out and stretch our legs after that long movie. We walked down
to where the pub was. It was lovely celebrating Katie’s birthday. We had a few drinks and then
decided to head out for the night. We had a long day of fun stuff and drinks but we were drained.
What a nice day!
DSCN2238 DSCN2241
DSCN2239 DSCN2240 DSCN2242
DSCN2243 DSCN2244
DSCN2249 DSCN2250 DSCN2253
DSCN2251 DSCN2252
DSCN2255 DSCN2256
DSCN2257 DSCN2260
DSCN2258 DSCN2259 DSCN2261
DSCN2264 DSCN2267 DSCN2263
DSCN2268 DSCN2270
DSCN2273 DSCN2281 DSCN2294
DSCN2282 DSCN2284
DSCN2288 DSCN2293
DSCN2298 DSCN2300 DSCN2323
DSCN2301 DSCN2304
DSCN2324 DSCN2327
DSCN2326 DSCN2355 DSCN2400
DSCN2364 DSCN2406
DSCN2414 DSCN2416
DSCN2413 DSCN2422 DSCN2424
DSCN2425 DSCN2429
DSCN2427 DSCN2434 DSCN2440
IMG_0094 IMG_0098 IMG_0099

Shiva & Miss Kittie being themselves 072509
Of course there always has to be a few obligatory kittie photos. This is what Miss Kittie
and Shiva do very often. Just lay around. Actually come to think of it all of them do that.
Whether they’re laying in the kitchen or in the living room, they’re always lazying around 🙂
Wish I could be that cool and calm more often, haha.
DSCN2446 DSCN2448
DSCN2452 DSCN2455
DSCN2458

Bonaventure on the iPhone 072909
I took these photos during my lunch this day. I started getting out of the office more for lunch
in order to get the fresh air outside of work. Just due to all the tension this was best for me.
I always sit under this area since I would go to eat at this Chinese restaurant.Just thought
I’d share 😉
IMG_0103 IMG_0104

Lunch with Mom 073009
This day was when everything started getting crappy at work. The only thing I looked forward
to today was being able to spend a little time with my mom during lunch. Even if it was only
an hour. It made me feel soo much better talking to her about what was going on. We went
and had some Robek’s and sat down in a nice quiet and cool area in between the tall buildings
and the freeway. While we were there we got to see the little duck family that I had heard was
living in that area. Momma duck and with her ducklings went straight to the fountain for a soak.
It was soooo cute!!! Once they were done swimming they went following their momma back to
where they came from. So yea, we talked, admired duckies, saw photos of her trip to Mexico
and had a nice time.
DSCN2466 DSCN2467 DSCN2476
DSCN2468 DSCN2469
DSCN2470 DSCN2473
DSCN2475
DSCN2477 DSCN2478

Lunch with Nathan & The Marina 080109
We went to see Funny People today. That movie was good and we had a nice time. When we
got out we decided to go have some late lunch. We went initially to Schooner or Later but they
were closing for lunch so we had to go somewhere else. Luckily there were other places around
so we decided to go to Claim Jumpers instead. But before we left we walked along the marina.
I had been wanting to get some photos of the boats. I love it going further in. It’s really calm and
soothing to be out there. Since the sun was heating up we left soon after to go have our late lunch.
It was an end to a nice day out.
DSCN2479 DSCN2481
DSCN2480 DSCN2487 DSCN2492
DSCN2486 DSCN2489
DSCN2491 DSCN2493
DSCN2494 DSCN2501 DSCN2503
DSCN2496 DSCN2508
DSCN2512

Miscellaneous Photos 080609-090109
Another obligatory monkee photo of Loki. This day also happened to be the last day that I worked.
Being under a lot of stress really sucks, so it was time for me to go. Anyways, with all the stress going
on I happened to talk to Kerri to see if she was planning to go to the spa anytime soon, since I now had
time. Turned out that very next Monday she was planning to go so it worked out perfectly. I really needed
it!! We went and had a relaxing time. We talked and got caught up. She told me about what had been
going on with her and I told her about the work drama. We spent a good amount of time detoxing. There
was one weird lady though that was super skinny, like sickly skinny that when we walked into the salt
room she was sitting in there covering herself with a blanket and reading a book. Really, reading a book
in a hot salt room. It was odd. We noticed she would go from the salt room, then walk out into the wet area
and jump into the freezing cold pool, and then back into the salt room. She did this about 4 times or so
while we were there. It was weird energy but we managed to be ok during our time there. The grossest
thing though was seeing her get a cup full of coffee and a buttload of sugar and going back into the salt
room with a cup of coffee. I guess she didn’t see the sign that said “No food or drink allowed inside”!!!
Anyways, after we were done at the spa we got cleaned up and went to my favorite Thai places that Kerri
takes me to. Funny that I don’t remember the name of the place. It always taste soo damn good. The food is
already great, but after the spa it taste waaaaay better!! We made a stop at Whole Foods. I got myself some
dessert for later. It was a little cheesecake with mixed berries on top. Mmmm it was really delish! This was an
awesome day..glad I got to spend it with Kerri! So towards the end of August we decided to get out of the house
for a bit and use the Cheesecake Factory gift card that I had. It was a nice late lunch with Nathan which was
good. During this week in August there were all the fires going on in LA. Luckily were out here in Long
Beach so we didn’t get the really bad air quality, but it was still nasty hot to be out. This was the first time
we had hoped on the freeway making our way towards LA and the fires. These smoke clouds were crazy.
I’m glad that got contained soon enough, but it caused a lot of damage. So lastly, I forget there’s a photo of
Shiva doing what she does. As you can tell from Shiva, she loves to lay around the computer for some
reason and around us. This is so not like her, but who knows why she does it. Either way I honestly cant
resist snapping up a photo or two of these monkees. I also included some iPhone photos were I donated
blood at work right before I left and Miss Kittie, among a few others that don’t need an explanation.
DSCN2527 DSCN2531 DSCN2534
DSCN2533 DSCN2535
DSCN2536 DSCN2537
DSCN2541 DSCN2548
DSCN2555 DSCN2556
DSCN2557 DSCN2560
IMG_0105 IMG_0106 IMG_0108
IMG_0109 IMG_0110 IMG_0114
IMG_0111 IMG_0112

Day with Julia 090609
The last time I had seen Julia was over a year ago at this point. We had been talking for a while about
getting together but we were unable to do it during her school vacation. Once the first week or school
rolled around we made plans to hang out this weekend since things would have calmed down at school.
We met up for lunch around 2pm. We hanged out at her place for a little bit and talked about what had
been going on with us over the past year. She also introduced me Vinho Verde. It was nice and fizzy and
tasted really good. Gave me a mild little buzz, but I honestly could have drank the whole bottle and it would
have been delightful! So yea, we had some vinho and mixed fruit salad while we talked. We then decided
to head towards LACMA to have lunch. We went to the same place that we had gone to have lunch the year
prior. They changed the menu since and considering the warm weather lately I was in a perfect mood for a
cool salad. My Caprese salad was sooo tasty and good. With our meal we had some Pinot Grigio. After our
meal we walked around the outside of LACMA and enjoyed the big light installation towards the west of the
LACMA building. That whole area w as open the year prior so we spent a good amount of time walking around
enjoying it. We ended our day making plans to go to the Getty Villa around Oct/Nov to spend the day out there.
And also to meet her niece which happens to be my same age. She would always talk to me about her but
I had never met her so it would be nice. It was a great day well spent!!
DSCN2562 DSCN2566 DSCN2571
DSCN2565 DSCN2567
DSCN2568 DSCN2570
DSCN2573 DSCN2585 DSCN2593
DSCN2574 DSCN2575
DSCN2576 DSCN2577
DSCN2582 DSCN2580
DSCN2583 DSCN2586
DSCN2587 DSCN2588
DSCN2590 DSCN2592
DSCN2594 DSCN2597
DSCN2595 DSCN2600
IMG_0117 IMG_0118 IMG_0125

And this photo I just happen to like. Nathan took this photo the night I came back from seeing Julia.
DSCN2601

So this is what has been going on with me for the past few months. I wont go into detail with the work ordeal.
I’m past that and all I can do is look towards the future. Other than what’s written there hasn’t been really anything else exciting going on.

What have you been up to for the past few months? Anything exciting to share? Hope your all well 😉

0 Responses to “Update+Photos 072409-090609”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

