31
May
09

April/Early May Update

So I realize that I have seriously procrastinated on writing my April
update. April was seriously a lot of fun. Glad May is turning out about
the same. But really, back to March, I don’t think I have had this much fun
on my birth month for a really really loong time! The past few years I have
spent it pretty depressed due to losing my jobs, but 2009 turned out pretty fab!


Health Spa with Kerri 033009
So my birthday fun started actually at the end of April. Kerri invited me to a
Korean Health spa in Garden Grove. She had told me about before and I was
pretty interested to check it out. I have never been in a fully nude situation,
where your running around in the showers naked seeing other women completely
naked as well. It was a pretty interesting and fun experience. Once we started
enjoying the heat rooms they had set up [it went from lukewarm to holy crap
I’m gonna melt!] I got very comfortable and it was pretty dead as well since we went
on a Monday morning. I sweated sooo much but it felt sooo good! They even had
these buckets with salts that you rub all over your skin in a super hot wet room.
It was a great experience and I’m looking forward to going back very soon! For
the rest of our day we went and had some thai food which was really tasty. We then
went to a thrift store and to ross to do some shopping. I didnt find anything really,
but it was still fun being able to have a day off at the spa and shopping with Kerri!
DSCN0722 DSCN0726
DSCN0731 DSCN0737
DSCN0724 DSCN0741

Disneyland with Ashley 040409
With Disneyland having their special birthday offer, I seriously could not resist
passing it up since my birthday fell on a Saturday. Initially Tish was suppossed
to go with me but she wasnt feeling too good and instead Ashley ended up going
with me. I’m really glad she came. We had sooo much fun! And we got to talk more
and bond which was nice. We did all the fun rides of course, we got on Star Tours,
Space Mountain [that was 3 times, that rush was soo good], Pirates of the Caribbean,
The Matterhorn, The Haunted Mansion, Thunder Mountain, Indiana Jones, and It’s a
small world. All in all Space Mountain was the favorite, we couldn’t get enough of it!
The park didnt close until midnight so we made the best of our day. It was sooo much
fun! We were dead tired that night from all the walking and excitement. The only bad
part was that my camera died during the day. My fault for going out to a bar the night
before, getting pretty wasted and forgetting to charge my battery. Let me just say that
morning I had such a bad headache but after the first couple of rides the adrenaline
over took the pain and it was gone. That was a relieve! Fun day indeed!
DSCN0752 DSCN0761
DSCN0764 DSCN0780
DSCN0768 DSCN0783
DSCN0784 DSCN0777
013_13A 019_35A
014_31A

Pho Lunch with Raquel + Photographer’s Night at the Aquarium of the Pacific 040709
So Raquel had invited me to lunch for my birthday. She knew I had wanted to go to
Blossom for some time so we decided to go have Pho there. It was really good. We had
some egg rolls as well and took a nice walk. She had also mentioned to me that the
Aquarium here in Long Beach was having a Photographer’s Night where the whole place
would be closed to the public only for photographers to come and take photos. She had
purchased her ticket ahead of time but was feeling really tired that day due to lack of sleep.
She offered me her ticket and I couldn’t resist. I went straight from work over there. It was nice
and quiet and not too many people. Some photographers crowded around the jellyfish tank
but they were are very nice and respectful. Everyone knew when to take their turn and move
ahead. When I first arrived I checked the jellyfish tank myself, but there were lots of people around
it. I decided to walk around taking my time and doing my own thing really. Trying to find the spots
that werent too crowded and coming back later to those that were. It was difficult taking low
light photos, but I managed. I liked what came out of it and had a nice time altogether. Thanks
Raquel!!
DSCN0798 DSCN0791
DSCN0797 DSCN0793
DSCN0800
DSCN0802 DSCN0847
DSCN0942 DSCN0834
DSCN0840 DSCN0872
DSCN0947 DSCN0893
DSCN0979 DSCN1066
DSCN0990 DSCN1066
DSCN1089 DSCN1121
DSCN1117

Dinner with Mom 041209
I had not seen my mom since Thanksgiving. Yes, that long. Anyways, we finally decided to get
together. She wanted to take me out to dinner for my birthday. We were going to go to Stinking
Rose, but last minute scratched that. Then we decided to make our way to El Compadres, but
they were crazy packed and their wait was just too long. So we decided to go to Canter’s instead.
My mom loves their bakery so it’s always a plus to go here. We had some food, got caught up
and finally exchanged xmas gifts. We left with bakery goodies to go for later. We had a really
nice time and it was nice to see her. It makes me realize that I really do need to make more time
to see her and spend time with her. I just wish I had more time to actually help her since she has
knee problems and has too many things to do. Hopefully I can figure something out. It was still
really nice to spend time with her. Oh and I msut mention a few days before this Nathan bought
me an iPhone for my birthday. Totally stocked!! These were taken with it. Best present ever 🙂
photo photo

The Getty Center 041809
We had been talking about getting out more and doing more fun things. This weekend we decided
to take a trip to the Getty. I had only been once before and didnt get any photos while I was there.
I figured it was about time to take a trip back. We didn’t leave until a little later but they closed late
so it was perfect. We saw a few exhibits and walked around the garden. Took a bunch of photos of
the gardens. It was a really nice day, a little warm but there was a nice wind. We walked around and
enjoyed looking at the views of L.A. from the hills. A really nice day was spent!
DSCN1137 DSCN1143
DSCN1139 DSCN1152
DSCN1160 DSCN1155
DSCN1157 DSCN1171
DSCN1167 DSCN1181
DSCN1188 DSCN1205
DSCN1193 DSCN1194
DSCN1196 DSCN1197
DSCN1198 DSCN1200
DSCN1209 DSCN1212
DSCN1215 DSCN1223
DSCN1231 DSCN1232
DSCN1235 DSCN1236

Miscellaneous 042209-042309
So among all the fun stuff going on I had an odd happening one morning on my way to work. As I
was walking up to the front entrance of my building I noticed something on the floor. As I got closer
I realized it was a dead sparrow on the floor. I felt bad just walking away and letting it sit there all
alone. So I ran upstairs to drop my things off and ran back with paper towels to pick the little guy
up. I didnt like knowing that he was juts laying there and everyone else managed to walk right by him
and not even try to move him away from everyone. I want to think that these people were too busy
making their way to work or didnt have anything to pick him up with. Maybe after I left someone
came back wanting to move him too, who knows. I moved him to where the flower bushes and grass
were. Figured it was a better resting spot than somewhere were someone might just step on him or
something. Still makes me wonder what might have happened to him…So the next day I had a dentist
appointment. I left work early and made my way to Belmont Shore. It was a pretty day. I did my
regular check up and decided to go find some food for late lunch. I was going to catch the bus down
to where all the restaurants were. Since the bus was taking a while I ended up walking instead. I
couldnt resist taking photos of the boats docked and the pretty day. Walking by Whisker’s I had to
stop by and get some goodies for the monkees. Got them some catnip toys and treats. While I was
there I realized there was a big parrot hanging out outside of his cage. I went and got a few photos
og him, but he didnt seem to like my camera much. I ended up at Archibald’s for late lunch. After
that I was going to catch the bus home but right when I walked out the damn bus had passed by,
so I ended up walkig a bit down to Broadway and catching the bus there. I had a really nice day
away from work doing other things.
DSCN1241 DSCN1244
DSCN1246 DSCN1249

Griffith Observatory 042509
Nathan had wanted to go to the Griffith Oberservotary the weekend before, but we ended up at the
Getty instead. We decided to go this weekend and make a nice little day of it. We left a little later in
the day. When we got up to the observatory there were a lot of people. Luckily among all the cars
and people we found parking really close to the entrance so we didnt have to walk much. It was
really nice but too many people around. We checked out some of the exhibits, but some were too
crowded to check out peacefully. The new area downstairs was really nice. That was probably my
favorite part, aside from the entrance area with the pendulum and the really cool murals of the
history of astronomy on the wall. We spent the majority of our time outdoors overlooking L.A. and
enjoying the nice breeze and sun. After a few hours we decided to leave. We then went to eat at
El Compadre, since we were unable to get seated the last time. We had a nice little late lunch/dinner
and some drinks. Our waiter even gave us tequila shots on the house. It’s worth being in an empty
restaurant I guess. After that we were going to come home but ended up at Nathan’s friends house
to watch the game and hang out for a bit. Some weird roomate drama happened and we decided
to head out and finally make our way home. Pretty good day all in all.
DSCN1253 DSCN1257
DSCN1258 DSCN1272
DSCN1264 DSCN1277
DSCN1267 DSCN1274
DSCN1280 DSCN1285
DSCN1289 DSCN1296
DSCN1301 DSCN1307
DSCN1305 DSCN1309
DSCN1312

California Adventure with Ashley 050209
Since Ashley had come with me to Disneyland for my birthday, we both go 2-fer tickets to come back
for free to California Adventure. There was no way that we were going to let a free ticket go to waste.
We got there early in the afternoon and had a really fun day. We got on a bunch of rides. The maliboomer
ride was a lot of fun. Being thrown straight up really fast and feeling weightless. The adrenaline rush is
awesome. Our favorite ride in the whole park was definitely the Tower of Terror. That adrenaline rush was the
best. Knowing that your dropping really fast and dont know when you’ll stop. And then being dropped
again. That feeling of floating in the air and only having the seat belt holding you down. Awesomeness.
Everytime we got off we ran to the fron to see how long the wait time was. We ended up going on it 3x’s
in a rown. Best two hours we spent in the park. At this point it was after 7pm or so and we were starting to
get hungry. We burned off alot of energy and even our throats were tired from the screaming of excitement.
We figured to not eat at the park since there were places around the park were we could eat without having
to spend a ton of money. Luckily we didnt spend a dime in the park. We went to Mimi’s to get some dinner
and relax a bit. Nathan picked us up and we were completely drained. Another fun day spent with Ashley.
I look forward to many many more!!! 🙂
DSCN1326 DSCN1331
DSCN1337 DSCN1338
DSCN1341 DSCN1343
DSCN1342 DSCN1348
DSCN1352 DSCN1356
DSCN1361 DSCN1370
DSCN1369 DSCN1374
DSCN1378 DSCN1380
DSCN1382 DSCN1373
DSCN1383 DSCN1389
DSCN1393 DSCN1394
DSCN1399 DSCN1403
DSCN1405 DSCN1408
DSCN1412 DSCN1418

Happy Hour at The Standard 050709
We decided to have a little happy hour time with a few co-workers since 3 of us shared birthdays in
April, and April was pretty busy and hectic with work stuff. It was nice to get out of the office for some
drinks and hang out. We had a really nice time and I had never been up to the rooftop bar at The Standard.
It was really nice and I still managed to get home early enough to relax. Glad we did this even if it was for
a little while. We need to do more of these Happy hour afternoons.
DSCN1422 DSCN1423
DSCN1426 DSCN1427
DSCN1429 DSCN1430

I realize that this post includes a bit of March and also went into May. Still the birthday festivities continued into
May so I decided to include it as well. This whole time was sooo much fun! I dont think I have had this much fun
for any of my past birthdays, except for the time that Nathan drew me a bon voyage/birthday party the last
time I went to Mexico. This whole month was just fun. And I’m glad the fun is continuing into May. It feels good
to be getting out more and really enjoying things outside from home. And saturdays are perfect for it. Gives me
Sunday to chill out and get ready for a new week at work. So glad to finally complete this entry. It’s been a
long time coming. May update to come next…More photos can be found on my flickr.

0 Responses to “April/Early May Update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

